Nerdy Noms Part 1 – Batman Cupcakes

11 Nov

I like junk food. I particularly like junk food that comes to me in a packet that I can rip open and stick my face in. I’m lazy with cooking. If it’s not essential, I’m not cooking it. I would live off Coco Pops and Marmite on toast if I could. So what the devil am I doing in the kitchen making cupcakes? I have no idea. It could be something to do with the Ace of Cakes binge I’ve been on, sitting in front of the telly for months on end drooling at the sight of cakes that look like ships and castles and hamburgers and WHAT THE CRAP THERE’S FIRE COMING OUT OF THAT CAKE. Or perhaps it’s something to do with wanting to be a mad scientist, and not being allowed anywhere near real chemicals. So I’m baking. And I’m starting with my one true love… Batman. LET’S MAKE BAT CAKES.

Here’s the recipe I used, credit to Good To Know Recipes. However, I did not (at this point) have any scales or any kind of measuring device so I literally just winged it.

MEASURING’S FOR SQUARES.

For the cupcakes:
120g butter
150g caster sugar
Grated zest of 1 lemon
2 large eggs
200g self-raising flour
1tsp baking powder
125ml milk

For the white chocolate buttercream:
120g butter, softened
200g icing sugar, sifted
50g white chocolate, melted

You’ll also need:
12-hole muffin tin
12 cupcake cases

Instructions

  • Preheat your oven to 180˚C/350˚F/gas 4. For fan ovens like mine, drop it to about 160˚C or they’ll burn. Pop your cases in your muffin tin ready to receive the goods.
  • Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. I don’t have a whisk, so I just use my hands to mush it all together. BECAUSE I’M METAL. Then throw in the lemon zest.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each one. A fork will do if you haven’t got a whisk, put your back into it.
  • Add about half your flour. Most recipes tell you to sieve it but I don’t half a sieve and IT DOESN’T EVEN MATTER, CAKE SNOBS. Just do it. Add half the milk and ‘fold in’ – I don’t know what this even means. Just mix it in, man.
  • Add the rest of the flour and the milk. Oh, and the baking powder. Mix.
  • It should now look like cake mix, thick and gooey and delicious. If it doesn’t you’ve done something wrong. LOLOOPS. The recipe doesn’t call for it but vanilla is the man so put some vanilla in there. About three drops? I don’t really measure it. You can never have too much vanilla. Disclaimer: Don’t put the whole thing in there, that would probably taste rank. VANILLA.
  • Spoon your mix into the muffin cases to about ¾ of the way to the top. If you over-fill these bad boys, you’ll end up with a weird slab of cake as they all spill into each other and make cake love.
  • The recipe says bake for 18 minutes but my golden rule is ‘Just keep checking.’ Sit in front of the oven if you have to. Trust me, burning your cakes after all that effort will make you cry. Let them cool before you put the icing on.

ICING!

  • Melt your white chocolate. I’m not sure what the ‘right’ way to do this is, but I just stuck it on the hob on a really low heat and stirred it constantly so it didn’t stick to the pan or burn. Let it cool for a bit.
  • Cream your butter and icing sugar together in a bowl. Again, use your hands if it’s easier. Who cares, as long as they’re clean and it gets the job done!
  • Mix in the white chocolate. Mmmmmmm.
  • Squeeze in some lemon juice from the leftover lemons if you like. Or some vanilla. OR BOTH. LET’S DO IT.
  • The recipe didn’t call for this either but we’re making Batman cakes, yeah? Go and get a bottle of yellow food colouring. You usually get in them in little 40g bottles (ish). USE HALF OF IT. Yeah, I’m being serious.
  • Spread your glorious Batman-yellow buttercream icing on your cakes. We could mess around with piping bags but that’s too much effort. Just spread it on with a knife or something.


For the bats you’ll need some black sugarpaste. You can get a 250g slab of it for like £1.50 off the internet, it’s great stuff. Start off by making your bat-shaped template. I went for the Arkham City style logo to celebrate the release of the new game (yes, I’m that lame). Use a small pair of scissors to cut out your bat shape out of some card. I used an old Coco Pops box, but something a little thicker but have done the job better. AND NOW WE CARVE. Grab a lump of sugarpaste, roll it out on your counter to about ½ a centimetre thick. Pop your cardboard template on your rolled out sugarpaste and carve around it with the smallest, sharpest knife you have. Et voila! Black sugarpaste bat. Pop that on your iced cake and you’re done. I won’t lie, the sugarpaste bats are a TOTAL pain in the arse and will make you want to throw your sugarpaste at the wall. But persevere, and you might end up with a batch of awesome cakes that look something like this…

The verdict?

The flavours balanced really well and the white chocolate frosting was just divine. The cakes were soft and moist inside. Perfect. Ohhhhh >_< -Cakegasm- And come on, the recipe wasn’t that difficult or time-consuming either. Definitely give it a go. Though the sugarpaste bats were a little sloppy in places, for a first attempt I was super chuffed with how these came out! 😀

Next time: Triforce Cupcakes


Thanks for reading ^_^

Stacey

xxxx

You can follow me (Stacey) on Twitter at @Wilona and of course follow the blog at @Alt_Spotlight

Leave a Reply

